List of Nominees for The Voice Achievers Award 2014 Announced

Voice Invitation cardThe Voice Achievers award 2014 has announced the names of nominees to be honored at this year’s award ceremony on 17th October 2014 at Van der Valk Hotel in the city of Almere, The Netherlands. This year’s award will coincide with the commemoration of the 15th anniversary of the Voice Magazine.

According to a Press Release issued by the Voice Magazine Editor-in-Chief Pastor Elvis Iruh, the major highlight of the evening will be the recognition of former Governor of Anambra State, Nigeria; Chief Peter Obi CON, for his firm belief in good governance and the promotion of democratic values in Nigeria. Another key personality that will be recognized is the well known Bishop (Dr.) Matthew Hassan Kukah, (Bishop of Sokoto Diocese of Nigeria and human rights advocate and social justice crusader), for his outstanding leadership qualities and vision for a better Nigeria and Africa at large.

Other personalities that will also be recognized include: Chief Joop Berkhout (Dutch-born Nigerian ace Publisher); Dr. Alhaji Abdullahi, Dikko Inde CFR, (the Controller General of Nigeria Custom Service); Ambassador Bianca Olivia Odumegwu-Ojukwu (Nigerian Ambassador to Spain; and Jacques Roomans (President and CEO of Sea Trucks/West Africa Ventures).

This year, the award committee has expanded the scope of the award to include Africans in the Netherlands and the Diaspora as a whole, and from the African continent.

Therefore other individuals that will be receiving awards are: Dr. Anita Davis-Defoe, Mrs Tessy Ojo, Dr. Samuel Lee, Dr. Jelle Braaksma, Mrs. Caroline N.M. Bayiha, Health Promotion South Africa Trust, Mrs. Veronica Van de Kamp, Engr. Ayodele Barry Otasowie Igbeare, Tony Patrick, Sally Ebot, Mr. Bernd Wandkowski, Stephen Ogongo, Bishop Michael O. Amamieye, Akua Manso, Martin Adu, Farida Musa Halliru, Sophie Bessem Tataw, Bruce Cerew, Alphonse Muambi, Aydin Acik, Rev. Christie Bature-Ogbeifun and Christopher Okigbo receiving a Posthumous award for literature

Larry Bate Takang Founder/Editor-in-Chief African Celebrities Magazine (ACM)

Larry Bate Takang
African Celebrities Magazine (ACM)

The Press Release also states that, the award dedicated to late elder statesman of Nigeria, Chief Anthony Enahoro would also be given out to a deserving African. It is a surprise pack for 2014 as the Voice magazine celebrates 15th anniversary.

The Voice Achievers Awards is organized by the Voice magazine (TVM) which also celebrates its 15th anniversary this year.

For more information on the Award ceremony and coverage of the event, media interviews with any of these personalities, kindly send an e-mail to the press department at